Flashback

This week is my last week with my students.  Therefore I wanted to have a special day for them.  As a child, I was so different from them.  I spent my afternoons outside building forts, gathering rocks, riding bikes, and playing ball.  TV and video games were not a major part of time.  I won’t say that I didn’t spend time with technology, but it was limited.  Like many others, I had an Atari and spent time with Ms. Pacman!

I asked my students to research cameras, phones, and video systems from the past to the present making sure to include a visual representation.  Afterward, I shared my collection of all (rotary phones, brownie cameras), concluding with the Atari.  Needless to say the discussion was quite humorous.  I explained the concept of an antenna and the lack of a remote.  Taught them how to change the channels–by actually moving your body toward the tv.  I was told…”That is too much work!”  The elaboration on an outside antenna sent them over the edge!

They were able to experience Ms. Pacman and Centipede with the Atari, and I must say that …..I totally rocked the score!

By the way, all of my teacher friends are playing the Atari after school…..memories!

One thought on “Flashback

  1. Nice post. 🙂 Guess those that are growing up today look at our 80’s technology as the stone-age. 😀 Personally I miss those days a bit, but I’m of course happy that we’ve got TV’s with crystal clear images and the Internet of course.

Leave a Reply

