Teaching….again!

First, let me give you a little background before I tell you what was my favorite moment of the day.  This is my 15th year of teaching, and I have taught what feels like everything–K, 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 5th, 6th, Special Ed., Alternative, and Gifted.  Oh…and I was a Speech Pathologist for a year in the school system.  This is my third year to teach gifted students, and I do enjoy it.

I left the regular education class because I was unhappy and unhealthy.  For twelve years, my job demanded most of my time.  At first this did not seem to bother me, and I truly enjoyed my work.  The last few years I realized that time was passing by so quickly, and I didn’t have anything to show for it, especially in my personal life.  There was so much paperwork, never-ending demands, and ultimately it seemed as though nothing was ever “good enough”.  Test scores needed to be higher, higher, higher!  So, I decided to take a break from the regular classroom and enter the world of gifted education.  I truly enjoy working with my students and motivating them to think outside-of-the-box.  They are so entertaining….and yet challenging.  I can see the multitude of opportunities for them in the future.

Having rambled through all of that information, let me get to the point.  Each day I work in a regular education classroom for  almost an hour.  Most of the time, I pull students to review or enrich the material.  Today, I was able to teach the whole class.  I instructed them throughout a lesson……and oh…..did I have SO MUCH FUN!  They were involved, listening, laughing, answering, conversing, and questioning. Yay!!!! What a fabulous interaction! I do miss teaching in the regular classroom.  It was one of my callings.  Would I go back?

I’m not sure that this one episode would convince to go back.  I’m at the age that I’m over the stress that accompanies that job.  Now, please don’t misinterpret my message by thinking that teaching gifted students is EASY!  That would be a misjudgment in all contexts.  The planning and implementation of the simulations and activities is quite in-depth.

In either classroom, helping the students reach their potential is the focus.  Today, I was just given a reminder of what I once call and everyday occurrence.

Leave a Reply

